RABDF Farm Health Management Awards


The Royal Association of British Dairy Farmers offers the chance for students in the UK to enter the Farm Health Management Awards each year. 

Significant changes to this annual competition were introduced in 2017 with three separate categories for students at agricultural college, those at agricultural universities and for those at vet schools. The three winners in 2018 were: Jonathan Bryer of Bridgwater and Taunton College, Francesca Mansfield of Aberystwyth University and Penny Stewart of The Royal (Dick) School of Veterinary Studies.

L to R: David Neville, Volac; Penny Stewart, RDSVS; Francesca Mansfield, Aberystwyth University; Jonathan Bryer, Bridgwater and Taunton College; John Sumner, Head Judge.

The competition requires applicants to write a 1,500 word essay on proactive farm health management - a key element of the Defra/industry Animal Health and Welfare Strategy, and the benefits it brings to animal health and welfare and farm business profitability.

These essays are assessed by a panel of judges from RABDF and XLVets. The winning students each receive a £500 cash prize and a trophy at a presentation at Dairy-Tech on 6 February 2019.

Volac logo cmyk 2012 100% Size.jpg

The 2019 competition is once again sponsored by Volac and we are grateful for their generous support of this important opportunity for agricultural and veterinary students.

If you are a student who would like to enter the 2019 Farm Health Management Award please speak to your course leader as it is a requirement for them to nominate you for the award.  

Selected essays and application forms should be sent to RABDF by no later than 23 November 2018.

If you have any questions about the competition or require further information please contact Rachel Bowcutt on 02476 639317 or email rachelbowcutt@rabdf.co.uk


Previous winners of the Farm Health Management Awards:

  • 2018

    • Agricultural College Student Winner: Jonathan Bryer, Bridgwater and Taunton College

    • Agricultural University Student Winner: Francesca Mansfield, Aberystwyth University

    • Veterinary Student Winner: Penny Stewart, RDSVS Edinburgh

  • 2017

    • Agricultural Student Winner: Elizabeth Johnson, Newcastle University

    • Veterinary Student Winner: Ellen Smith, RDSVS Edinburgh

  • 2016

    • Agricultural Student Winner: Ruth Wills, Duchy College

    • Veterinary Student Winner: Kaz Strycharczyk, Cambridge Vet School

  • 2015:

    • Agricultural Student Winner: William Cranfield, Plumpton College

    • Veterinary Student Winner: Paul Doran, Cambridge Vet School

  • 2014:

    • Agricultural Student Winner: Rebecca Hodgson, Myerscough College

    • Veterinary Student Winner: Susan Carr, The Royal Veterinary College

  • 2013:

    • Agricultural Student Winner: Charlotte Torrance, Plumpton College

    • Veterinary Student Winner: Gregory Steele, Cambridge Veterinary School

  • 2012:

    • Agricultural Student Winner: Diane Gornall, Myerscough College

    • Veterinary Student Winner: Emily Gascoigne, Cambridge Vet School

  • 2011:

    • Agricultural Student Winner: Sarah Anne Moore, Duchy College

    • Veterinary Student Winner: Nathan Rhys Williams, University of Liverpool

  • 2010:

    • Agricultural Student Winner: Tom Percy, Duchy College

    • Veterinary Student Winner: Stacy Douglas, Royal (Dick) School of Veterinary Studies

  • 2009:

    • Agricultural Student Winner: Mark Price, University of Reading

    • Veterinary Student Winner: Rachel Mather, University of Bristol veterinary school